# Council

#### SPECIAL MEETING OF BELFAST CITY COUNCIL

Held in the City Hall on Sunday, 1st July, 2018 at the hour of 10.45 o'clock a.m., pursuant to Notice.

Members present: The Right Honourable the Lord Mayor

(Councillor Hargey) (Chairperson);

the Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor McDonough-Brown);

the High Sheriff (Councillor Howard);

Aldermen Convery, Copeland, Kingston, McCoubrey, McGimpsey, Rodgers, Sandford and Spence; and Councillors Attwood, Beattie, Boyle, Campbell, Carson, Clarke, Corr-Johnston, Dorrian, Dudgeon, Garrett, Graham, Groves, Hutchinson, Johnston, Long, Magee, McConville, Murphy, O'Hara,

Pankhurst, Reynolds and Walsh.

### **Summons**

The Chief Executive submitted the summons convening the meeting.

### **Apologies**

Apologies were reported on behalf of Aldermen Browne and Haire and Councillors Armitage, Baker, Canavan, Corr, Kyle, Magennis, McAllister, McAteer, Mullan, Newton, Nic Biorna and O'Donnell.

## **Battle of the Somme Anniversary**

Moved by the Right Honourable the Lord Mayor (Councillor McAllister), Seconded by Alderman Rodgers and

Resolved – That we, the Lord Mayor and Citizens of the City of Belfast, on the 102nd Anniversary of the Battle of the Somme, desire again to record our feelings of gratitude to the brave men of the 36th (Ulster) Division, the 16th (Irish) Division and other forces who, by their glorious conduct in that battle, made an imperishable name for themselves and their people and whose heroism will never be forgotten.

Lord Mayor Chairperson